Technical Assistance and General Administration


CivicHR
®

Getting Started With User Roles

Custom User Roles

The Roles tab has been expanded to allow for more flexibility for administrators to provide more specific access to the tabs and Candidate information.


NOTE: User Roles is an Advanced Feature and is only turned on by request. If you are interested in using this feature, please send a note to support@civicplus.com and state that you would like your CivicHR User Roles turned on.**


In order to change the information that the user has access to, you will go in to the Settings tab located in the left-hand menu.


Columns and their use:

  • Name: Name of the user role in the system
  • Description: A brief description outlining their responsibilities or access level
  • Copy: The ability to copy the user role to avoid starting from the beginning every time you want to create a new role
  • Delete: Deletes the role (one thing to note here is that the user associated with that role will lose access if that is the only role they have been assigned in the Employees tab)

Editing a User Role

If you would like to edit an existing user role, you click on the user role itself.  Then, you will be presented with a screen that looks like this:

To change the levels of access for that user role, you just check or uncheck the boxes accordingly.***

Note: You do not have to log out of the system for the changes to take effect.  In fact, you can still be logged into the system and as long as your changes are saved the user that is logged in or going to log in will have access to their recently assigned tabs and/or buttons.

When finished, click Save Changes at the bottom of the Role Keys area.  Since CivicHR ATS does not automatically save, this step is essential to have your changes uphold.

Creating a new User Role is accomplished by instead of clicking on an existing role, you will click Create User and type in a role name and description.  After you have done that, you can start to check the boxes for the level of access you wish to grant the user role.

 

Remember

If you are using this feature, every time you have a new Hiring Manager or Administrator, you need to give them roles! Otherwise, all they will see it this:

This is because you didn't give them permission to see anything! Give them a role on their employee record and they will be good to go. 

Assigning the User Role

After you have created the user role and assigned the levels of access, you will want to go to the Employees button on the left hand menu.

To assign the role, click on the name of the person that you would like to assign.

When you reach the Employee account screen you can start to assign the role by clicking on the Roles tab located next to Location Routing.

At this point, you will be able to check the boxes next to the levels of access you wish to provide the user.  Once you have checked the box or boxes, you need to click Save Employee to have the changes uphold.

 

Additional Notes

** Every CivicHR system by default uses "automatic roles". This is a predetermined set of roles that each administrator and hiring manager has access to. We understand that the needs of each of our customers can vary, and that for some customers this level of control is unnecessary. This feature is only turned on by request.  

*** User Roles is a multi-phase project. Only the first phase of the project is complete. This means that only roles concerning the Candidate Detail Popup are configurable. The next phases of the project will address Candidate Management and then the remaining pieces of ATS. 


 

?



I'd Like to Request an Enhancement

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Updated:
Follow