Creating and adding members to groups gives you the ability to direct your message to a specific audience.
CivicReady allows you to create as many groups you need with no limits, so that you can reach every person you need to.
- Navigate to Groups > Groups
- Select Create Group
- Fill in each field
- Group Name: Type in a Group Name that you would like to use (It should be less than 50 Characters long).
- Category: Use the drop-down arrow to choose a category for your group. It is important that you understand how categories work on the Regroup system. If you choose "Emergency Alerts" the Regroup system will send out all Text/SMS messages to this group on our Emergency Alert short code 51664 or 58339. Any other category will send text messages out over a short code 67076 or 30890.
- Description: This area allows you to describe what this group is being used for and will appear on the groups home page.
- Group Type: You have two choices for this area.
- Announcements Only: With this group type, Only Group or Network Administrators are able to post to this group type.
- Open Discussion: Any member of the group can post and respond to messages in the group.
- Post Approval: This feature is available so that if you wish to have EVERY posting approved by a Group Administrator before it is actually posted to the group members. With this box checked as soon as a new post is created an email will be automatically sent to the designated Group Administrators that are authorized to approve Pending Post. That Administrator will then need to approve the posting before it is sent to the members of the group.
- Privacy: This area is with regards to whom can see the group as listed on the main "Group Page".
- Public: Anyone that has access to the Group page can see this group and Join it without any type of permission necessary.
- Private: This group's name is visible on the main Group page as well, BUT you must request permission to join this group. When permission is requested an email goes to the designated Group Administrator for membership approval.
- Secret: This group is hidden from the Main Group page Unless you are a network administrator or one of the specific groups admin of this group, or already a group member.
- Create Group or Save Group: If your network does not require approval by a network administrator to create groups you will see "Create Group". If approval is required you will see "Save Group". In the case of "Create Group" the system will create the group you have requested and bring you to the Groups new home page. If "Save Group" is displayed then an email notification is then sent to the designated Network Administrator(s) to approve the group. Once approved you will receive an email notifying you the group is now available.