AM4: Editing an Existing User

Prev Next

Managing user accounts is a part of keeping your system secure and running smoothly. As an administrator, you may need to update a user’s information, change their access, or disable an account when roles change.

This guide shows you how to find an existing user, edit their account details, update roles and permissions, and activate or deactivate user access as needed.

Who can use this feature?

System Administrator | Container Administrator

Important Note

If you do not have Container Administrator permissions in your system, you will not be able to complete the tasks in this guide. Please contact your administrator for assistance.

How to Edit an Existing User

  1. Sign in to Community Development

  2. Click Admin Tools:
    The Admin Tools menu in the left-hand navigation menu.

  3. Click All Users:

    Admin tools menu displaying options with All Users highlighted for selection.

  4. Set the User Search Parameters filters, if desired:
    User Search Parameters including fields for type, name, email, and status.

  5. Click Search Users:
    User interface with the Save Changes button highlighted.

  6. Click the Edit pencil icon to open the user’s information::
    User management table with the Edit icon highlighted in the Actions column.

  7. Edit the User Information as necessary:

    User Information fields with required fields highlighted.

    • Name: The user’s display name shown throughout the system.

    • Address 1: The primary street address associated with the user’s account.

    • City: The city for the address listed.

    • State: The state for the address listed.

    • ZIP: The ZIP or postal code for the address listed.

    • Phone: A contact phone number associated with the user’s account.

    • Email address: Used for the user’s account communication and email notifications.

    • Password: The initial password set for the user’s account.

    • Confirm Password: Re-enter the password to make sure it matches.

    • Municipality: The city, town, or jurisdiction the user is associated with.

    • Title: The user’s job title or role within the organization.

    • Signature: (Optional) Upload a file that contains the user’s signature.

  8. Click the dropdown menu in the Role column to select a user role:
    User permission tables with the dropdown menu in the Role column highlighted.

    Note:

    For more information about user roles and what each role can access, please see the article AM1: Understanding User Roles.

  9. Check the box for a Module to assign module permissions:
    Table displaying access roles and features for container administration, highlighting the checkboxes in the Modules column.

  10. Check a permissions box to assign permissions for the module:
    Table displaying access roles and features with the Add, Edit, Read Only, and Delete checkboxes highlighted.

    • Add: The user can add content for the module

    • Edit: The user can edit content for the module

    • Read Only: The user can read content in the module

    • Delete: The user can delete content for the module

  11. Click Save Changes:
    User interface with the Save Changes button highlighted.


Knowledge Check

This Knowledge Check includes 5 questions based on this article. Select the arrow next to each question to reveal the answer. You can review the article at any time while completing the Knowledge Check.

Question 1: Where do you go in Admin Tools to see a list of all users?

Answer: Go to Admin Tools and select All Users to view the full list of users.

Question 2: (True or False) You can only find users by scrolling through the list.

Answer: False. You can also use filters or the search bar.

Question 3: Which column contains the options to deactivate or reactivate a user?

Answer: The Action column.

Question 4: What does clicking the Edit icon (pencil icon) allow you to do?

Answer: Edit the user’s information.

Question 5: How do you control what actions a user can take in each module?

Answer: By using the check marks to choose add, edit, delete, or read-only access.