This article will show you how to add a category to the Alert Center.
Important Note:
A category must be published and have at least one published alert before it will appear on the live side of the website.
Who can use this feature?
System Administrators | Owners
Instructions
Navigate to Modules and on the Content tab, select Alert Center:

Click the Add Category button:

Fill in the information:

Category Title: Enter the name of the alert category
Description: Enter an optional description of the alert category
Show Brief Description: Select when the brief description is displayed with alerts
Show Alert Bar: Select whether to display alerts in the Alert Bar
Enabled: Display alerts in the Alert Bar. This option is recommended for emergencies only
Disabled: Do not display alerts in the Alert Bar

Note:
Only 2 alerts will show in the Alert Bar
Featured Area Type: Select how alerts are displayed in the featured area by choosing Full Item Display or Simple Display
Full Item Display: Display the full alert content in the featured area
Simple Display: Display a simplified version of the alert in the featured area
Note:
When Full Display is selected, the Brief Description appears in Alert Center for that category.
Email List: Allows Admin users to send out notification emails from this category
Allow Subscribers: Allows users to subscribe to Calendar in the Notify Me® module
Note:
You must have the Notify Me® module for this function.
Allow SMS: Choose to enable SMS messaging
Show Archives: Choose to display archives as visible to the public
Update Integration Hub: Select to send Alert Center item changes to CivicPlus Integration Hub for configured integrations
Add Alert RSS Behavior: Select how RSS settings are handled when adding alerts
Modify Alert RSS Behavior: Select how RSS settings are handled when modifying alerts
Permissions: Setting permissions at the folder level is suggested
View: May view the live side only
Author: Submit new items, modify or delete unpublished items
Publisher: Submit new items, modify or delete unpublished items, modify published items, accept/reject submitted items
Owner: Allows users to publish new items, modify or delete unpublished items, modify or delete published items, accept or reject submitted items, create or modify categories, and assign category permissions
Select Save Changes or Save and Publish:

Save Changes: Will save the work as an unpublished draft
Save and Publish: Will save the work and publish it for viewing