All applications that consume data from X (formerly Twitter) must comply with a platform policy that requires the removal of certain content to protect user privacy. Under this policy, Social Media Archiving automates the removal of certain X content.
Details
Tweets authored by users outside of your regulated organization are removed from your archive only if and when the original author deletes the tweet or otherwise makes it private. This applies to the following content types, all of which are authored by a third party:
A tweet that @mentions an account you own
A tweet “liked” by an account you own
A tweet retweeted by an account you own
Need Help?
View answers to questions frequently asked by users or contact Support if you have additional questions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is all X content affected?
No. The user privacy restrictions only apply to tweets authored by users outside your organization. Social Media Archiving can archive and retain long-term records of your personal tweets and direct messages (sent and received), even if that content is deleted or is no longer available on X.
What software products and/or archiving solutions are subject to the policy requiring removal of certain content?
This policy applies to everyone who consumes X data, including other compliance providers and tools. Any archiving solution that does not remove required content is violating X’s platform policy. If another vendor is suggesting that they are somehow exempt from the platform policy requirements, we strongly suggest you verify the claim with X prior to entrusting your record-keeping with that vendor.
How does Social Media Archiving handle the removal of content when necessary?
We always notify you that content in your archive is going to be removed before its removal. Our system then disposes of the affected records.
How long after providing notification will you remove affected records from my archive?
We are obligated to remove these records as soon as reasonably possible.
Am I able to export affected records prior to removal?
You can access and export records available within your archive at any time. However, once we receive notification that X content must be removed, we are obligated to remove that content from your archive.
When did you notify customers of this change?
All Admin users of active subscriptions were sent this notice on April 13, 2018.
I have additional questions. Who can I speak with about this?
If you have any questions about Social Media Archiving features and functionality, please contact our Support team.
If you represent a government agency and have questions regarding X policy or the use of X by your agency, we kindly request that you direct those questions to X Public Policy.