This article will show you how to add, modify, or delete a category in the News Flash module.
Who can use this feature?
System Administrator | Owner
Add a News Flash Category
Navigate to Modules and, on the Content tab, select News Flash:

Select Add Category:

Fill in the information fields:

Category Name: Name of the category displayed to the public
Description: A short description that will be displayed on the Notify Me® Module page for people to subscribe to receive email notifications of the news flash
Template: Controls the design that will appear for items associated with this category
Show Lead In
Never: Will not show the lead-in for the description
Always: Will always show the lead-in for the description
Only if Full Text is blank: Will only show the lead-in if the full-text area is blank
Show Archives: The default will show as Yes or No. If the default is set at the Module level, it cannot be changed here
Allow Subscribers: Allows users to subscribe to this category using Notify Me®
Note:
The Email List drop-down menu must be set to Yes to edit this field.
Allow SMS: Choose Yes or No
Note:
The Email List drop-down menu must be set to Yes to edit this field.
Email List: Allows you to send out emails to a list
Update Integration Hub: Sends all News Flash published item changes to CivicPlus Integration Hub to allow integrations
Category Color: Categories can be assigned custom colors, which appear in the story tags for better visual organization
Add and/or Modify Items RSS Behavior: Choose to always ask, include in the RSS feed, or do not include in the RSS feed. Learn more about RSS Settings
Permissions: Setting permissions at the category level is suggested
View: May view the live side only
Author: Can submit new items. Can modify or delete unpublished items
Publisher: Can publish new items. Can modify or delete unpublished items. Can modify or delete published items. Can accept or reject submitted items
Owner: Has all Publisher permissions. Can also create or modify categories, and assign category permissions
Select a Save option:

Cancel: Will delete what you’ve done
Save: Will save the work as an unpublished draft
Save and Submit (Authors only): Will save the work as an unpublished draft and notify a publisher that it is ready for review
Save and Publish: Will save the work and publish it for viewing